top of page



There are 25 members of the Hawai'i Senate. Senators are elected to serve staggered four-year terms and are not subject to term limits.  Each Senator represents an average of 54,412 residents, as of the 2010 Census.


The presiding officer of the Senate is the Senate President. Other officers of the Senate include the Vice President, Majority Leader, Majority Caucus Leader, Majority Floor Leader/Whip, and Majority Whip.


The officers of the Senate are elected by a majority vote of the Senate members.

The Hawai'i Senate Majority consists of 24 Democrats for 31st Legislature 

The 31st Legislature will convene on January 20th, 2021


bottom of page